Westonka Seniors Awarded Record Number of Scholarships

At the 13th Annual Scholarship Awards Night on May 8th, 49 members of the Mound Westonka High School graduating class received over $57,000 in local scholarships from 35 different donors, including service organizations, businesses, families and school groups. Both the number of scholarship recipients and the dollar amount of the scholarships awarded are the largest numbers to date.”Again this year various individuals, as well as business, community, and school organizations, invested in an outstanding group of seniors with a wide array of post-secondary goals,” MWHS Principal Keith Randklev said. “The class of 2013 received the highest amount of donations in the history of the scholarship night, and we are ever-so grateful for the generosity bestowed on our students and their families!”

Scholarships were awarded as follows:

Warren Stickney Memorial Scholarship – Paige Beyer; Northwest Tonka Lions 4-year Scholarship – Erik Hannigan; YOST/Haddorff/Leopold Scholarships – Molly Wollner and Tyler Hebig; Thomas and Phyllis O’Malley Scholarship – Kelly O’Brien; Val Chabot Memorial Scholarship – Katelyn Nelson; Westonka Jaycees Scholarship – Hannah Berg and Monica Shukle; Gloria Anderson Memorial DARE Scholarship – Brenna Mack; Ridgeview Foundation Health Care Scholarship – Isabel Barnhart; Tyler Russell Hill Sunshine Scholarships – Allison Brady (Science), Josef Vertnik (History), Charles Buettner (Foreign Language), Ashley Rosenberg (DECA), Tanner Palm (Rugby/Hockey/Soccer) and Joseph Herder (Football); Kyle D. Simonson Memorial Scholarship – Kaitlyn Eikenberry; Justin David Morris Memorial Scholarship – Isabella Finney;WEM Teachers’ Union Scholarship – Kerianne Simmons; Rotary Club Citizenship & Service Scholarships – Katelyn Nelson, Kelly O’Brien and Monica Shukle; Mary Esther Corl Memorial Scholarship – Paige Gabrelcik; Jeff Stevenson Memorial Academic/Athletic Scholarship – Grette Treat; John Rasmussen Memorial Scholarship – Kyle Luehmann; Mound American Legion Aux. #398 Scholarships – Danielle Schoenecker (Medical) and Darius Haase (2-Year School); Brian Chase Memorial Scholarship – Christopher Pilling; Robert Fox Memorial Scholarship – Jennifer Golden;

MWHS National Honor Society Scholarships – Adam Kunz and Naomi Jackson; Robert Photography Scholarship – Grace Polusny; Northwest Tonka Lions Scholarship – Emma LeSuer; Mackenzie Geri Anderson Memorial Scholarship – Katelyn Nelson; MWHS Student Senate Scholarships – John Sotirin and Katelyn Nelson; Westonka School Administrators’ Scholarship – Daniel Humbert; Knights of Columbus #6005 Scholarships – Courtney Koerner and Zachary McDowell; Jon Scherven Memorial Scholarship – Arianna Edington; Crow River Bank Scholarship – Joseph Leenay; Mound Masonic Lodge Scholarship – Sally Habib; Northwest Tonka Lions Scholarship – Salma Habib;

Mound Fire Department Auxiliary Scholarship – Emily Ruud; Edward and Frieda Behmler Memorial Scholarship – Marilee Saatzer; Marty Gilbertson Education Office Employees’ Scholarship – Lynsey Ihli; Larry Exel Basketball Scholarships – Molly Wollner and Grant Nagel; MWHS Pop Singer Scholarships – Isabel Barnhart, Paige Beyer, Alec Hill, Naomi Jackson, Cody Johnson-Armitage, Nicholas Johnson, Christopher Pilling, Tory Robinett, Danielle Schoenecker and Monica Shukle; Rotary Strive Scholarships – Brittany Millar and  Charles Fitz; MWHS Cross Country Scholarship – Grant Piepkorn.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.